Election Dates 2016

The schedule of elections below are for calendar year 2016 early 2017 and include key dates for qualifying, voter registration deadlines, early and advance voting and the dates of the actual elections that will be held (noted in RED). If you are already registered to vote in Butts County (please note that City elections are a separate registration) then you do not need to register again; however, if you have not voted in an election in many years, you should check with the Butts County Board of Elections and Registration at 770-775-8202 to make sure you are on the voter registration list. If you are NOT registered to vote in Butts County, then please note the various voter registration deadlines if you wish to vote in a particular election. Please note that on listed holidays, the elections office will be closed and no activity will be possible that day. In order to register to vote for the first time and to vote, a proper form of ID is required. To find out what types of ID are accepted, please contact the Board of Elections Office at 770-775-8202.

 

Presidential Preference Primary

UOCAVA Deadline for PPP/Special: Saturday, January 16 (Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act)

Voter Registration Deadline for PPP/Special: Monday, February 1

Advance Voting begins for PPP/Special: Monday, February 8

Saturday Voting for PPP/Special: Saturday, February 20

Presidential Preference Primary (PPP)/Special Election: Tuesday, March 1

 

Qualifying & Primary Voting for Local, State, Federal Elected Office

Candidate Qualifying Dates: Monday, March 7 – Friday, March 11

UOCAVA Deadline for Primary/ Nonpartisan/Special Election: Saturday, April 9

Voter Registration Deadline for Primary/ Nonpartisan/Special Election: Tuesday, April 26 (Closed April 25 due to Confederate Memorial Day holiday)

Advance Voting begins for Primary/Nonpartisan/Special Election: Monday, May 2

Saturday Voting for Primary/Nonpartisan/Special Election: Saturday, May 14

Primary/General Nonpartisan/Special Election: Tuesday, May 24

 

Primary Runoff for State, Local, Federal Elected Office

UOCAVA Deadline for Primary/Nonpartisan/Special Runoff: Saturday, June 11

Voter Registration Deadline for Primary/Nonpartisan/Special Runoff: Tuesday, April 26

Advance Voting begins for Primary/Nonpartisan/Special Runoff: Tuesday, July 5 (Monday is Independence Day holiday)

Primary/General Nonpartisan/Special Runoff: Tuesday, July 26

 

General Election for State, Local, Federal Elected Office

UOCAVA Deadline for General/Special Election: Saturday, September 24

Registration Deadline for General/Special Election: Tuesday, October 11 (Monday is Columbus Day holiday)

Advance Voting begins for General/Special Election: Monday, October 17

Saturday Voting for General/Special Election: Saturday, October 29

General/Special Election: Tuesday, November 8

 

General Election Runoff for Local & State Offices (If Needed)

Registration Deadline for General/Special Runoff for Local and State Offices: Tuesday, October 11

General/Special Runoff for Local and State Offices: Tuesday, December 6

 

General Election Runoff for Federal Offices (If Needed)

UOCAVA Deadline for General Runoff for Federal Offices: Saturday, November 26

Registration Deadline for General Runoff for Federal Offices: Tuesday, October 11

Advance Voting begins for General Runoff for Federal Offices: Monday, December 19

General Runoff for Federal Offices: Tuesday, January 10, 2017

 

Local Offices Open for Qualifying in 2016

The following local offices will be open for qualifying on March 7-11, 2016:

  • County Commissioner District 1
  • County Commissioner District 2
  • County Commissioner District 5
  • Board of Education District 3 (Non-Partisan)
  • Board of Education District 4 (Non-Partisan)
  • Clerk of Superior Court of Butts County
  • Tax Commissioner of Butts County
  • Sheriff
  • Probate Judge (Non-Partisan)
  • Chief Magistrate Judge (Non-Partisan)
  • Coroner
  • County Surveyor
  • District Attorney (Richard Milam represents Butts, Lamar & Monroe Counties)
  • Superior Court Judge (Bill Fears represents Butts, Lamar & Monroe Counties)